Ro H.

Newbie Confessions: My phone was setting my tone for the day

I'm new to mindfulness, but I've been slowly removing unhealthy habits from my daily routine and replacing them with with healthier practices.  One seemingly small change made a huge difference in how I start my day. I mention it here because I often see suggestions (elsewhere) of using mindfulness apps and practices for starting your day - but they don't typically mention this. I'm wondering if anyone else has had the same or a similar experience. 

Every morning  I'd wake up feeling anxious and a little chaotic. Knowing there was stuff to get done, I'd reach for my phone thinking that if I just quickly checked my calendar, emails, notifications, etc - I'd know what was on my plate and then I'd be able to continue my morning with a sense of calm. If you're not new to this, you probably know where this is going 😉...  I never reached that calm, and it didn't matter if I made a list the evening prior, or had a relaxation routine before bed (thanks, GAD!). I repeated that chaotic morning routine for years 😬

Now that I've been trying to create a blank canvas and clear my mind in the mornings I realized that my phone was helping me to set an anxious tone for my entire day. Now I just use my phones DND settings alongside another app that prevents me from opening my email, calendar, etc during hours I set in advance. So, even if I forget and pick up my phone from habit, I can't start myself down my path of distractions. (which also allows me to be kinder to myself, in a way)

It has been about two weeks now, and long story short - I finally realized that for me, a quiet phone allowed for a quiet mind, which in turn made learning new techniques and embracing moments throughout the day feel a little more natural.

Edited by Ro H.
  • Thanks 1

Thank you for this @Ro H.! I can certainly relate.