Ro H.

How can I practice mindfulness during feedback?

After reading through the introductions I realized that so many of you have experience with business/corporate mindfulness workshops. So, I thought I'd ask  the community for a point in the right direction. :classic_smile: 

I'm completely new to practicing, but I'm curious how I might embrace mindfulness at work. Specifically when giving or receiving feedback. Especially receiving it! 😅 I tend to avoid having difficult conversations where feedback is involved - but you can't grow and learn without those moments. I'm a generally open and receptive person in other areas of my life, I'd like to ensure I bring that to my work relationships as well but I'm not exactly sure how or where to start. 

Any guidance is welcome, from reading suggestions and links, to information here, or your own tips if you like...

Hello Ro,

I don't know  if it fits your questions, what crossed my mind were aspects of "self-compassion"  concerning  "difficult conversations" ,

Maybe you will also find some helpful ideas on mindful.org

I wish you patience and joy in your explorations, your journey with mindfulness.

tribal

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Yes exactly, thank you! Knowing I should include phrases like "self compassion" in my search helps me filter & find the types of resources I'm seeking, which I can apply.  

Hey @Ro H. - I really appreciate this question and what it points to. While mindfulness really does help us to be more open, receptive, understanding, etc., most of us still have 'blind spots' to work through so to speak. These could be in our intimate relationships, family relationships, workplace relationships, or any other aspect of life. But in any case, receiving feedback is not always easy.