John

Taking back control of my emotions

I am new to the mindfulness concept but in a short time I have seen it start to change my way of thinking.  A lot of the time I feel my mind is racing from one thing to another and it can be exhausting. Sometimes iT makes it difficult to sleep. I would like to get better control over my thoughts and emotions.John

• Like 1

Hello John! Wonderful to meet you and welcome to the community. I'm the community manager here so if you have any specific community-related questions, feel free to ask at anytime.

I remember when I first stepped into exploring and learning about mindfulness (it was Jon Kabat-Zinn's book, Wherever You Go, There You Are, that was my entry point), the first thing I noticed was how I started to think and to see the world differently. Even in a short period of time, mindfulness can really shift things for us. Sometimes its like a light bulb going off that then just needs to be integrated.

The racing mind is indeed exhausting - both mentally and physically. There are some great resources that you might like to explore to give you a hand when it's difficult to be mindful of wandering thoughts. Here are some guides that highlight a few different practices as well as some background information about stress, mindfulness, and sleep:

https://mindfulnessexercises.com/how-to-meditate-into-sleep/

https://mindfulnessexercises.com/10-mindfulness-exercises-for-sleep/

https://mindfulnessexercises.com/tranquil-meditation-sleep-music/

At first reading this, I made myself a coffee and then listened to Joseph Goldstein on emotions and moods.