I am a Doctor , primary care physician and . mindfulness meditation teacher . I've done trainings with rick hanson ,connected kids and recently 5 weeks with deb dana and the polyvagal theory of stress . all of these things help hugely and i feel doing the online classes has kept me grounded as i could see peoples faces they could see mine without masks and PPE . although in the last two weeks as thing are coming back to normal I'm having a huge sense of wanting to take to the bed and not get up ! I'm suffering from back pain which i never had before and I feel like I'm plodding a bit through the day . anyone any ideas about mediations that might help give me back my mojo . give me a bit of energy .  many thanks ahead of time xxx 

• Like 1

Hello @DrFiona! Thanks for the post. I think a lot of us collectively are struggling to feel energized at the moment. A few things that help me when I'm in this state:

1) Dancing - When I'm struggling to get started for the day, I'll put together a playlist of just two or three songs that feel inspiring in the moment. Then, I'll just dance freely to them. Sometimes slowly, sometimes with increased energy. This simply helps to get me into my body and out of the mind that doesn't want to let go.

2) 5 or 10 minute 'breathing break' - Another thing that often works for me to shift my energy is simply to take a short breathing break. When I'm struggling to get motivated, I am guilty of usually being attached to my phone (news, social media, etc.). So taking these short breaks helps me to pause, rest, and reset. I usually practice diaphragmatic breathing during this time, or whole body breathing.  

3) Alan Watts - When I read your post, I immediately thought about something I listened to a few months back that really helped me to feel less anxiety and more present to the world around me (which in turn, made me more energized). Not sure if this will have the same impact on you, but nevertheless, here's the link: 

Hello DrFiona,