Sleepy Sarah

Thoughts on ASMR as a mindfulness exercise?

Hi all,

I practice meditation and mindfulness exercises mainly to improve the quality of my sleep and especially to fall asleep faster.

One new tool I stumbled upon on my quest for peace of mind is ASMR (check e.g. https://asmrstate.com/asmr-definition/ if you don't know what I'm talking about). To say it is weird is putting it mildly, but it does kind of work also. One thing I like in particular is the videos where they've mixed guided meditation and ASMR together, though I cannot too many of those. I am new to all this, so I'd really appreciate some input here. What I've tried so far has been really really helpful because I do have a history of sleeping problems and pills are something I avoid like the plague.

What are your thoughts on ASMR as a mindfulness/meditation exercise? Any suggestions which things to try?

• Like 1

hi, i just stumbled on your post - this is interesting ...  have you tried or heard of vipassana meditation? so the definition/explanation on the asmr site that you sent states that the tingling sensation  : "...typically starts from the scalp and then moves towards the back of the neck and spine." - and i know that with vipassana the focus is to observe the sensations from the top of the head and scan slowly down towards one's toes - observing but not interacting with the sensations...interesting - i will check it out .

i too had alot of trouble sleeping until recently  - now - i just focus on my breathe and dont interact with my thoughts and fall asleep pretty fast... so just wanted to share my two bits with you ...as you mentioned you had trouble sleeping ...

• Like 1

Very interesting post about ASMR. I was not familiar with it, but it sounds very similar to the concept of piti in Buddhist meditation. Here is one brief explanation of it from Sutta Central: