Hello everyone!

I’ve been lurking in the shadows receiving and ‘filing’ Sean’s emails for the 100 Day Meditation practice.

I am a Social Worker working in the Child Protection space so find my work challenging and busy resulting in a very busy mind.  I have 3 children, 2 with special needs, so have been trying to embrace Mindfulness and Meditation for as long as I can remember and never seem to find the time.  I hoping by committing to a community I will dedicate more time to mindfulness.  I certainly see the benefits when I take the time to do it.

I would like to eventually study mindfulness with a view to teaching it to parents and children as my long-term goal is to work as a therapist/coach to assist families to be strong family units providing safety and security for themselves and their children.  As a SN parent there was never much support/help for my husband and I (and our daughter) but lots for our SN children.  I would like my impact in the this world to be a shining light (lighthouse) for the whole family and help them through difficult times.

I’m looking forwarding to learning from you all, developing new experiences and a sense of calm 🙂

Cheers

Keera

• Like 3

Welcome @Keera,

We work in similar fields. I have worked in the helping profession for over 30 years in a variety of settings and have also dabbled in mindfulness practices over the years. I also just recently joined this site. 

I look forward to following your posts.

Regards,

Gene

• Like 1
  • Administrators

Hello @Keera! Thank you for the lovely introduction. It is great to hear a bit about your background and what brings you here.

Being in a community - sharing and connecting with people who are of similar interest - is such an important part of our evolution. In this world, it's so hard to fully adopt mindfulness as a way of being because there is so much that works against it. Discussing our efforts, struggles, and stories with others helps to let us know we are not alone.