Greetings,

My name is Joseph, and I am new here in town, and would like to introduce myself. I have been trying to learn mindfulness and meditation sine 2000; recently, I have become more active in my pursuit. I had read various authors on the topic from Jack Kornfield,  Herbert Benson, Alan Watts, and Thomas Merton. But I never got going.

A few years ago, I read Ruth Behr's book-- Practicing Happiness, and I got more Involved. I had fractured my pelvis and read her book while I was in rehab, and I found her approach to mindfulness helpful in my rehab. I was hooked.

I am a psychologist in a correctional facility and try to teach mindfulness to my patients. I found this site, and am looking forward to improving my practice and teaching.Christian, and interested in the Christian tradition of meditation and mindfulness--all of the spiritual traditions that I knw of have meditation or contemplation as part of their faith. I believe that we all have something to give to each other.

Looking forward to learning and growing.

Thanks for this service,

Joseph

• Like 2

Welcome @Joseph,

I look forward to following you on this site. It sounds like you have a wealth of experience and can contribute a lot here. 

Regards,

Gene

Welcome @Joseph! It is wonderful to have you here. Thank you for the warm introduction. That sounds like very important and meaningful work you are doing, and it's wonderful that you are incorporating mindfulness into your work.

What types of practices are you currently exploring? 

If you are interested in exploring another book at the moment, we will soon be starting a book club on Tara Brach's 'Radical Acceptance'. Feel free to join the club if you'd like to read along with us or see what is being shared about it.

I have acquired the book, and read the first 4 chapters.

Thank you for accepting me into this club.