Alshattuck40

Mindfulness for Teachers

I am SO EXCITED to introduce mindfulness practices to teachers in the local school district I work for as a physical therapist! They are so very stressed with the demands of curriculum and student behaviors. I am looking for creative ideas to get teachers to “buy in” to the evidenced based mindfulness strategies without them feeling like this is ONE more thing they have to do.  

• Like 1

@Alshattuck40 - This is a timely post as I too will be soon working with teachers and staff at a local school! My plan is to make the sessions experiential, so rather than telling them why mindfulness and meditation are so effective, I want to show them. I'm a yoga teacher as well, so I will be leading 30 mins yoga before 30 mins meditation or mindfulness practice. During that second half, I will definitely be including a bit of a lesson aspect to it, so though it will be experiential, they will be well guided through it.

Let me know what you have been planning or thinking 🙂

I am woking with one school on a year-long project. I offer teachers two sessions per month. One is strictly a yoga experience. The other is some discussion around the book "Real Happiness at Work" by Sharon Salzberg. Each month we focus on one of the "pillars" that the author writes about. The discussion is topically relevant to what's going on in school and we also do QiGong for health and wellness. It is incredibly rewarding for me to do this work. As a former teacher (health equation) and Principal in Middle school, I have a deep appreciation for the challenges teachers and principals face and am committed to offering mindfulness strategies to reengineer their response to stress through increased self-awareness and by cultivating self-compassion.

• Thanks 1